MINUTES of a MEETING of the WILTSHIRE & SWINDON FIRE AUTHORITY held at the WILTSHIRE FRS TRAINING & DEVELOPMENT CENTRE, DEVIZES on WEDNESDAY 26 MAY 2010

Present: Cllr M Bawden, Cllr P Brown, Cllr P Davis, Cllr Mrs M Groom,

Cllr Brigadier R Hall, Cllr H Marshall, Cllr N Martin, Cllr D Montaut,

Cllr C Newbury, Cllr J Osborn, Cllr D Wren.

16 Membership

The Clerk reported that the constituent authorities had appointed the following to be members of the Authority for the ensuing year:

Swindon Borough Council:

Cllr M Bawden, Cllr N Martin, Cllr D Montaut, Cllr D Wren.

Wiltshire Council:

Cllr P Brown, Cllr P Davis, Cllr C Devine, Cllr Mrs M Groom, Cllr Brigadier R Hall, Cllr H Marshall, Cllr C Newbury, Cllr J Osborn, Cllr G Payne.

17 Apologies

Apologies for absence were received from Cllr C Devine and Cllr G Payne.

18 Election of Chairman

This item was conducted by the Clerk, Cllr Brigadier R Hall having relinquished the chair prior to the meeting. Members agreed to suspend Standing Order 5.2 for this item of business to avoid the need for a secret ballot for the election of Chairman.

Cllr Brigadier R Hall was elected Chairman for the ensuing year and took the chair for the remainder of the meeting.

19 Election of Vice Chairman

Members agreed to suspend Standing Order 5.2 for this item of business to avoid the need for a secret ballot for the election of Vice Chairman.

Cllr D Wren was elected Vice Chairman for the ensuing year.

20 Minutes of Last Meeting

The minutes of the meeting held on 11 February 2010 were confirmed and signed.

21 Members' Interests

Cllrs Brigadier Hall and Wren each declared a personal interest in the business discussed under Minute No.30 by reason of their positions as Alternate Director and Director respectively of South West Fire Control Ltd. The Clerk to the Authority also declared an interest in the same item of business because of his position as Company Secretary of the Company, and in the business under Minute No.31 because the subject matter concerned the contractual arrangements for the services of a Clerk.

22 Chairman's Announcements

The Chairman welcomed the re-appointed members of the Authority.

Cllr Brigadier Hall reminded members of the recent sad deaths of firefighters Alan Bannon and James Shears from Hampshire FRS. Members observed a minute's silence as a mark of respect. The Chairman commended the staff from Green Watch at Swindon who had walked 70 miles from Swindon to Southampton 28/29 April to raise money for a fund in memory of the two firefighters. He said he would send a letter of appreciation to Green Watch on members' behalf.

The Chairman reported on the visit from Sir Ken Knight, the then Government's Chief Fire and Rescue Adviser who had subsequently written expressing his appreciation.

Cllr Brigadier Hall commended Station Manager Dan Cooke for his professional and profoundly thought provoking presentation on his experiences as a member of RAPID-UK and in particular his experiences in the aftermath of the Haitian earthquake. A number of Members had attended the presentation.

The Chairman reported on his recent visit to the Fire Service College. He also reminded Members of the forthcoming Equality & Diversity Training on 9 June 2010.

23 Programme & Scrutiny Board

A report of the meeting of the Board held on 22 April 2010 was received. Arising from the report, discussion took place on (i) the work of the task and finish groups, (ii) the future of the Fire Control project in the light of the change of Government, and (iii) the Audit Commission's intention to focus on the themes of road safety and climate change in this year's audit programme. Regarding the latter, it was agreed to invite all members to the meeting of the Programme & Scrutiny Board at which the audit report would be considered.

24 Strategic Documents

- (1) Asset Management
- (2) Procurement
- (3) ICT

These three documents were considered by members, having previously been recommended for approval by the Finance & Resources Workstream and the Programme & Scrutiny Board.

Resolved:

- (a) To request members to forward any detailed comments on the documents to the Chief Fire Officer not later than 7 June.
- (b) To authorise the Chief Fire Officer in consultation with the Chairman to approve the final text of the documents in the light of (i) minor editorial corrections and (ii) any comments received from members.
- (c) Subject to (a) and (b) above, to approve these three strategies.

25 Finance Review & Audit Committee

The minutes of the meeting of the Finance Review & Audit Committee held on 23 March 2010 were received.

26 Protection, Prevention and Intervention

A short visual presentation was made.

27 Standards Committee

The minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 2 March 2010 were received.

28 Membership of Committees and Representations on Other Bodies, etc.

On considering a paper by the Clerk,

Resolved:

To approve the nomination of members to the positions, and the appointment of members to the committees and other bodies, as set out in the table appended to these minutes for the ensuing year, i.e. until the annual meeting of the Authority in 2011.

29 Regional Management Board

The minutes of meetings of the Regional Management Board held on 28 January and 22 March 2010 were received.

30 South West Fire Control Limited

Summaries of the discussion and decisions at meetings of the Board of Directors of South West Fire Control Limited held on 5 February and 9 April 2010 were received.

31 Staffing Committee

A summary of the minutes of the meeting of the Staffing Committee held on 11 February 2010 was received.

(Duration of meeting 10.30 a.m. to 11.45 a.m.)

WILTSHIRE AND SWINDON FIRE AUTHORITY APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES, OUTSIDE BODIES, ETC 2 0 10 / 11

Committee/body	No of places	Allocation of places where rules on political proportionality apply	Member(s) or representatives	Deputies where permitted
Regional Management Board	1	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall	Councillor D Wren
Finance Review Committee	5	Conservatives – 3 Liberal Democrat – 1 Other -1	Councillor M Bawden Councillor C Devine Councillor N Martin Councillor J Osborn Councillor C Newbury	n/a
Urgency Committee	5	Conservatives – 3 Liberal Democrat – 1 Other -1	Councillor Brigadier R Hall Councillor D Wren Councillor P Davis Councillor H R Marshall Councillor D Montaut	n/a
Standards Committee (Chairman : Mr D Barker)	3 + 3 lay	n/a	Councillor P Brown Councillor H R Marshall Councillor D Montaut Mr D Barker) Mr D Inight) lay members Mr R McMillan)	n/a
Staffing Committee	3	n/a	Councillor P Davis Councillor J Osborn Councillor D Wren	n/a
Programme & Scrutiny Board	4	n/a	Councillor M Bawden Councillor Brigadier R Hall Councillor D Wren Councillor J Osborn	n/a

LGA General Assembly	4	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall Councillor D Wren Councillor H R Marshall Councillor C Newbury	Reserve: Councillor M Bawden
LGA Fire Forum	1	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall	Councillor D Wren
Rural Commission	2	n/a	Councillor P A Brown Councillor Mrs M Groom	None
South West Councils	1	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall	Councillor D Wren
South West Provincial Council	1	n/a	Councillor D Wren	Councillor P A Brown
Wiltshire Assembly	1	n/a	Councillor H R Marshall	Councillor G Payne
Wiltshire Public Service Board	1	n/a	Councillor Brigadier R Hall	Councillor D Wren
South West Fire Control Limited	1	n/a	Councillor D Wren	Councillor Brigadier R Hall

Programme & Scrutiny Board Workstreams

Workstream HR,Learning & Development Service Delivery Finance & Resources

Performance & Risk

Member Champions

Equality & Diversity Climate Change/Carbon

Lead Cllr P Davis Cllr H R Marshall Cllr C Devine Cllr D Montaut

Cllr P Davis

Deputy Lead(s) Cllr P A Brown & Cllr C Newbury Cllr G Payne & Cllr Mrs M Groom Cllr N Martin & Cllr M Bawden

Cllr J Osborn

Pool of members for Appeal Committee

> Cllr M Bawden Cllr P Davis Cllr C Devine Cllr H R Marshall Cllr C Newbury Cllr G Payne